Causes of ADHD- Pesticides, Discipline, or Genetics

Jessica Stebbins, M.S., Registered Marriage and Family Therapist Intern
IMT 1258
Discovery Institute, P.A. Rockledge, FL
321-631-5538
Serving Brevard County

       I was in line waiting to pay for some produce at a farmer’s market today and struck up a conversation with the lady in line behind me. I mentioned a study that I just recently heard about that found a link between high levels of pesticides ingested through foods and Attention Deficit-Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in children. I believe this study is very important but is pretty self explanatory so I won’t go into further detail about it. (Hopefully we do not find out that it has been falsified like the one linking immunizations and autism, although I really do not see any downsides to limiting the amount of pesticides you and your family ingest so I would follow it anyways.) The thing that surprised me though, was this woman’s response. She stated something to the effect of ADHD is just an excuse for parents who do not discipline their children. I tried to explain to this woman that ADHD is a real disorder but quickly realized I would not be changing her mind so easily, especially not in the time we had to wait in line.
        The point that I want to make today is that although ADHD is sometimes overly diagnosed and people make jokes about being ADHD when they are a bit hyper, forgetful, or distractible, it is a real disorder. Parenting techniques are not to blame, as with most mental health disorders, a person has a genetic predisposition (simply meaning it is in their genes) and then from there it may or may not surface. There are definite differences in brain functioning/structure between individuals who have ADHD and those who do not. And as I previously stated, it has been more recently linked to pesticides as well. For more information on the causes of ADHD (which there is not definitive answers on) you can check here. Please note, there is nothing about discipline mentioned!
       If you are looking for a Brevard County counselor or therapist give me a call. My office is located in Rockledge and I would be more than happy to talk with you.

www.discoveryinstitutepa.com
jessicastebbins@discoveryinstitutepa.com

One Response to Causes of ADHD- Pesticides, Discipline, or Genetics

  1. I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a Reply

